Remembrance of things Memento — Part 0: Here goes!

Memento (2000)

There appears to be a sizable cult following for this film, and rightly so, as I consider it to be one of the best, arguably THE best, films of its genre ever made. I teach college classes part-time (I am a retired professor) and show clips from Memento to demonstrate several key topics in Behavioral Neuroscience. Each time I show these clips in an undergraduate class, I have a number of students who approach me afterwards because they want to talk about the movie itself. What I have discovered from these conversations is that, even though the film has many diehard cult followers, very few of them appear to have completely unwrapped its intricate plot line. I am going to try to do that here, but the topic is too complex to accomplish in one posting, so this is merely the first of several to follow by me on this topic. As in reading Proust, you may have to be patient for many pages of reading before finally getting to what was initially laid out as the topic at hand. Being a retired professor, I can not help myself. I am going to drone on and on and on about this topic that interests me immensely, even if it bores you to tears, or even if there is no one remaining in the lecture hall at the end of the lecture except me. However, this does not have to be a monologue, so I invite everyone with interests in this film to post your own thoughts and comments here as well.

 Ron Boothe
psyrgb@emory.edu

Just for the Record, I rate Memento as 5 out of 5 stars.

To read my first posting on this topic, go to Discussion of Memento, Part 1.

About Ron Boothe

I am a retired professor of psychology living in Tacoma Washington USA.
This entry was posted in 2004 - 2007, Discussion of Non-Selected Films and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Remembrance of things Memento — Part 0: Here goes!

  1. marlowe44 says:

    Wow! You really sparked one off this time, Ron. Having only watched MEMENTO twice, and that years ago, I am not qualified in trusting my “memory” of it, nor whether or not I understood it.

    It becomes mandatory, in order to respond to your assertions and theories that one needs to rewatch, to review the film –which I will do one day soon. Peter, in response to your other portion of this topic, does point out validly that it is not necessary to fully understand a film to enjoy it, or dislike it, on several viseral, emotional, intellectual, and spiritual levels, let alone psychologically accurate.

    But at present I am prepping for the TFC meeting this week, doing some more research on the Marquis de Sade, since you have announced recently that you were unhappy with QUILLS, and that it was an unattractive portrait of de Sade. My God, sir, the real de Sade was as unattractive as they come, like 5’2″ and very obese at the end of his days, more Peter Lorre at the end rather than the tall Geoffrey Rush. I will make references to, and you should review Peter Brooks MARAT/SADE, or aka THE PERSECUTION AND ASSASSINATION OF JEAN-PAUL MARAT, AS PERFORMED BY THE INMATES OF THE ASYLUM AT CHARENTON, DIRECTED BY THE MARQUIS DE SADE (1966). It starred Patrick Magee as De Sade, and featured the Royal Shakespearean Co. with Glenda Jackson.

    MEMENTO shall wait, for the moment, and if memory serves, it will be a delicious chore to review it and then return to your narrative.

    Glenn

  2. Bree says:

    Hey Ron (and others),

    I know this post is from years ago, but I think you would find a program we are airing this summer very interesting considering your dissection of Memento. NOVA scienceNOW is airing a piece on H.M., the man made famous by his brain and inability to form new memories, and shows studies that are being done about the same issue Leonard is having in the film.

    The show is airing in August on your local PBS station, Tuesday at 9 p.m. Hope you find it interesting!

    Bree

  3. Ron Boothe says:

    Bree,
    Thanks for the information regarding the upcoming NOVA piece about H.M. I look forward to watching it next August.

    During his lifetime, we knew H.M. only by his initials because this is the way he was identified in the numerous scientific publications about his case. Now that he has died we know that his name was Henry Gustav Molaison:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/12/05/us/05hm.html

    Ron

  4. Anthony Bosco says:

    If you enjoyed MEMENTO’s exploration of the interplay between memory and the subconscious, you will definitely like this new short film:

Leave a Reply

